Skip to main content

   PGCMLS Flickr PGCMLS Youtube PGCMLS Facebook  PGCMLS Twitter

And the winner is...

Printz award


Today is a big day in the world of Libraries. It's the day of the American Library Association's Youth Media Awards. The ALA Youth Media Awards honor children's and young adult authors and illustrators, as well as producers of children's audio and video materials.  They'll be announcing the winners in the big categories like Caldecott, Newberry Award, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards, Alex Awards, Margaret A. Edwards Award and of course, Printz.

The Printz Award is awarded every year to a book that "exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature." It's definitely like the Grammy or Oscars for the young adult lit world. The ALA Youth Media Awards are selected under a cloak of secrecy. This year, the announcements were made at 7:45 a. m. CT in Dallas and librarians, book sellers and authors across the world tuned in to their computers to see who was awarded the grand prize.

Follow the link to see who the winners are...